It is not your fault.

Standard

It is one of those things- you always say you’d react a certain way in a situation. You are sure of it. You’d walk away, you’d never look back. How could you love or miss anybody who would do something to hurt you?

And then it happens to you.

You never realize until it’s you how difficult it is.

I made the decision. I made the bold decision that so many people are not able to make. The right decision.

But that doesn’t mean it was an easy decision.

That doesn’t mean I haven’t looked back and blamed myself. That doesn’t mean I never second guessed myself. That doesn’t mean I didn’t cry. That doesn’t mean I didn’t miss the man who I learned to love. That doesn’t mean I didn’t go through heartbreak.

If anything- the heartbreak was worse.

How could someone I loved, someone who supposedly loved me, do that to me?

How could someone treat me that way? What does that say about me?

Nothing. It says nothing about me. It only says volumes about him.

I think that is what a lot of people forget.

It has nothing to do with you- it’s them.

The person who treats you badly is going to treat the next person badly too. There is nothing you could have done to prevent it. There is nothing you could have done to change him.

You gave him all the love you had and he couldn’t love you back the way you needed and deserved.

To any person who has ever been mistreated- it’s not your fault.

It is not your fault.

Leave a Reply

